Wilencote was purchased in 1918 by G.W. Humphreys and was originally part of the old Ngatapa Station a 33,000 acre property.
The property comprised 1827 acres and the name comes from a village in England where an ancestor once farmed. In 1923 Wilencote was taken over by Fred and Lesley with much having to be done in the way of erecting buildings and subdivision of paddocks.
The Hereford Stud was originally started in 1920 under the ownership of G.W. Humphreys & Son and then transferred to F.E. Humphreys in 1923. In 1929 the first Polled Hereford to come to New Zealand was imported from the United States of America for the Wilencote herd. This bull was Royal Gem from the herd of the Hodgson Bros,Ottawa, Illinois.
The following year, the heifer Dora Willdale was purchased at the American Polled Hereford Show.
The blood of Royal Gem has been intensified and used